My Descent Into Darkness

Spock, Kirk & Bones

Spock, Kirk & Bones

I remember the first time I saw an episode of Star Trek. I was in the family basement and the TV was playing as I read my dog-eared copy of The Black Cauldron.  I wasn’t really paying attention to the TV, it was on for background noise. I’d gone downstairs to escape the children that were constantly in my home since my mother ran a day care out of our house.

Slowly, as I’m following Taran, the Assistant Pig-Keeper’s quest, music distracts me and I hear words that will change my life forever, “Space the Final Frontier. These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise…”

The Black Cauldron was forgotten. Kirk, Spock, and Bones filled my screen. I don’t remember exactly which episode it was now (I’ve seen every single episode of every single installment with the exception of Enterprise), but I do remember being fascinated by Spock. With his regal bearing, pointy ears and command of his emotions, I immediately wanted to be him.

Spock's World CoverMy life at that point, was nothing but an emotional morass. I read to escape the emotional abuse I dealt with at home. It would be a mere five years later that I would attempt suicide. Spock and the Vulcan way seemed to be the answer to my dreams. I would spend the rest of my youth attempting to adopt the Vulcan way of being when it came to their emotions.  I read everything I could get my hands on about Vulcan and their philosophies. To this day, my favorite Star Trek novel remains Spock’s World by Diane Duane.

With the knowledge I gained, I schooled myself to never show emotion to my family. A blank face was all they got to see. It infuriated them.  I was elated.

My love for Star Trek has only grown over the years. When The Next Generation premiered, I resisted watching. I was a purist. If it wasn’t Kirk and Spock, I didn’t want it. I devoured all of the fiction written and my personal copies were so dog-eared the covers were falling off.

One afternoon, however, I was home alone. Nothing was on TV and an episode of TNG came on. With nothing else to watch and no new book to read, I decided to give it a shot and was hooked. From that moment on, I was open to any and everything Star Trek.

tumblr_mejh8vDaJ91rahwr2

Quark Beanie Toy

My favorite installment is Deep Space Nine. I think it captures the human drama more elegantly than any of the other series. My daughter is also named for a character on this show and a small, stuffed Quark adorns my desk at work.

Needless to say, my love of Trek runs deep.

So, it has been with great curiosity that I’ve followed the JJ Abrams reboot of the series. The first movie was lovely. I adored Quinto as Spock and all of the characters have been cast well. I had my doubts about John Cho as Sulu (I’d only seen him in Harold and Kumar previously), but he is doing the role justice. All of the character are.

I wish I could say the same for JJ Abrams.

star_trek_into_darkness_ver3_xlgIt was with extreme anticipation that I waited for the release of Into Darkness. We bought tickets as soon as they went on sale. I wasn’t waiting until the weekend. We went to the 10pm showing last night.

This movie was not what I’d hoped it would be. The acting was solid. Quinto didn’t fail me in his performance as my favorite Vulcan and frankly, I have a massive crush on Cumberbatch’s Sherlock Holmes, so having him as the villain was a joy, but the plot was just horrendous. There are so many holes you could fly the Enterprise through them. I actually found myself snorting sarcastically at certain points in the film. And what the hell was up with the Nazi-esque uniforms!

At this point, I think everyone has pretty much guessed the big twist in the film, but I’m not one to give away spoilers. Is it worth going to see? Yes, but I’d wait for a matinee. The $33 I shelled out was more than I think I should have paid.

I hope there will be third movie and that this alternative ST universe can get back on track. For now though, I’ll have be satisfied with marathons of DS9. Thank goodness for Netflix!

8 thoughts on “My Descent Into Darkness

  1. “Spock’s World” is one of my favorites too…I’m actually on my second copy since the first one fell apart after so many readings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

