Where’s Jimminy Cricket When You Need Him?

Ever since I was young, I’ve had crushes on fictional characters rather than celebrities or other “traditional” type crushes. For me, it’s always been characters that get me going not the actor or celebrity behind the character. My sister had her room plastered with David Cassidy and Leif Garrett, but I just couldn’t get into following those trends. I still don’t.

Cutter

Cutter

My very first crush, at the age of seven, was on a comic book character – Cutter, Chieftain of the Wolfriders from the series Elfquest by Wendi and Richard Pini. Part of me still loves him. You always love your first though, don’t you? Cutter was dynamic, loving, could kick major ass and wasn’t afraid to try new things. That he got to bond with and ride a kick ass wolf just made him more appealing in my eyes. I wanted to marry him.

Eventually, I got older and Cutter got married to Leetah so I had to let him go. My next crushes would be on cartoon characters which makes sense since I was very heavily into cartoons and anime. Every Saturday morning had me plastered to the TV watching the Super Friends, The Smurfs, etc. I was a big Scooby Doo fan, but I also loved Robotech and Voltron. So, of course, I had serious pre-teen, angsty crushes on Captain Rick Hunter and Commander Keith Kogane respectively. That they are remarkably similar in appearance is kind of funny.

Rick Hunter

Rick Hunter

Commander Keith

Commander Keith

Ironically, looking back at this I see that my crushes were all on warriors during my youngest years. I was drawn to male figures that were protective and loving. Can you say lack of a father figure?

Eventually, I got older and was no longer so concerned with a character who could protect me and was much more concerned with a character that stimulated me both intellectually and gave me that little tingle in my bits and so began a life-long love and fascination with geeks. I love nerds in real life too. A man that can talk to me about RAID arrays, Avogadro’s constant or the Fermi Method and at the same time cause my girlie bits to get wet is right up my alley.

Spock

Spock

My first geek love was Spock. I used to beg my parents to let me eat my dinner in front of the TV so that I could watch Kirk and Spock explore space. While most girls were into Kirk and his womanizing ways, I was all about Spock. A simple raise of that eye brow and I was all a flutter.

I would pine for Spock well into my teen years. By then I’d given up praying to the Disney gods and Jimminy Cricket for my crushes to come to life, but I still used to wish he was real. I read all the Star Trek novels about Vulcan and Spock’s World was so dog-eared by the time I was done with it that it fell apart.

Again, I got older and eventually moved on from Spock to other geeks such as Rupert Giles from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Niles Crane from Frasier. Both eclectic, refined men with incredibly sexy brains and exteriors that turned me on at least which was all that was required. What I loved about these two was that despite the fact that they were very gentle men by nature, when push came to shove they would fight for what they believed in and for the people they cared about.

Rupert Giles

Rupert Giles

Niles Crane

Niles Crane

Jared

Jared

My ultimate crush and the one character that I continue to carry a torch for to this day is Jared of The Pretender. In him, both sides of my nature came together. He is the geek to end all geeks, but he can also kick some serious ass. The premise of The Pretender (which is a phenomenal series by the way and should be watched if you haven’t already) is that he is a super-genius who can become anything and anyone. Read the Wiki page, it would take too long to try and explain the nuances of this series, but he was a geek, a warrior poet and a beautiful piece of man candy all wrapped into one.

The men behind these characters, just never measured up. I say, why settle? I’d rather have a crush on a character that embodies all of the characteristics I desire in a man, than waste my time crushing on celebrities. But, as with all things, that’s just me.

😉

Leave a Reply

