The Gift of Fear

gift of fear A while back, I wrote a post about the difference between fear and doubt and advocated for why fear is really a good thing. Recently, I was reminded of this book by Gavin De Becker. I actually read it several years ago, however, I’m rereading it now and, frankly everyone needs to read it.

As many of you know, I work a 9-5. Well, I happen to work for an agency that protects people from abuse and exploitation and we are building a campaign regarding workplace violence. I suggested to my boss that we all read this book and incorporate some of these techniques into our campaign. The day after she began reading this book, she came to me and told me that she’d been reminded of a situation where she ended up in fear of her life, that had she read this book, she would never have allowed herself to get into the situation to begin with.

My 13-year old daughter will be reading this book. You should too. It might save your life.

Leave a Reply

