Don’t use elbow grease when you have Baking Soda and other life lessons

il_fullxfull-215794021As I washed my breakfast dishes this morning, easily eradicating the burnt on grease and other residue with nothing more than a sprinkle of baking soda, I had a profound realization: I’ve spent my forty-one years working harder rather than smarter. For years, I scoured my pots and pans with Brillo pads, Dobie sponges, and other tools “guaranteed” to work. Nothing lived up to the hype, my hands would cramp and my back would hurt before I was done. This all changed the day I found baking soda.

I was searching for a way to get tea stains out of ceramic when I found a tip for using baking soda. Later, while searching for a non-toxic way to scour my tub, I again found baking soda (along with half a lemon). So, the next time I found myself fruitlessly scrubbing the cooked on grease from my breakfast sausage, I had a lightbulb moment … baking soda. It worked flawlessly, and I’ve never gotten a hand cramp scrubbing a pot since.

Next week, I’m going in for an invasive procedure—a hysterectomy—and the threat of complication has me contemplating my mortality and my legacy. For the first time, I’m really thinking about what I want to leave behind, just in case. I have no profound wisdoms to share. I have generally gone left when I needed to go right. Besides, no one needs me to tell them what they should do, most people already know, they just don’t do it.

With all this in mind, I leave you with nothing profound, but a few things that have made sense to me or made my life easier:

  • Good cooks are separated from bad cooks by only one thing: patience.
  • Stop scrubbing pots, just sprinkle some baking soda in the pan and wash as usual.
  • Perfect coffee equals a Bialetti espresso maker and Illy medium roast espresso.
  • Compliment a stranger whenever possible, it will make both of your days better.
  • Don’t judge the dog, consider the owner instead. I used to support breed specific legislation, but the canine love of my life turned out to be a Pitbull.
  • Never let a Pitbull do something, even once, that you aren’t willing to do a thousand times over.
  • Medical professionals aren’t omniscient. Be assertive. It’s your life.
  • Everything does have a purpose, even if it doesn’t make sense to you.
  • Get dirty socks clean by boiling them with lemon slices.
  • Keep a journal. One day, those details will fade and you’ll wish you had.
  • Stay off the scale. Forget numbers and concentrate on loving yourself.
  • Find something you love and do it often.

To take a note from my beloved Mr. Spock … live long and prosper ya’ll!

16 thoughts on “Don’t use elbow grease when you have Baking Soda and other life lessons

  1. Pingback: Don’t use elbow grease when you have Baking Soda and other life lessons | SeasonedSistah2

  2. Love it! Very matter of fact. You encouraged me. Thank you so much for K. I. S. (Keeping It Simple). Best wishes for a speedy recovery. I had a hysterectomy in January 2014. I understand your concern and am praying for you. (((HUGS)))

  3. Jeez! I’m late to this news. Hope you’re OK.
    For what it’s worth, your name (or rather that of a former persona) has been uttered on more than one blog of late. One way or another you have left your mark, and I trust you will continue so to do.

Leave a Reply

